Testimonials

Well reviewed on amazon, with a over 11,000 reviews, at an average rating of 4.6 out of 5. Below is a summary of some good and bad reviews, I’ve tried to include an equal number of good and bad but remember there are approximately 90% of good reviews, and 10% are 3 stars or less.

 

Bryan J. Kautzman, Fargo, ND, Oct 2016 – “There are a lot of reasons why I was led to finally start distilling my own water, but the most important reason was for my health. I simply cannot stand the taste of tap water whether it is filtered or not, and bottled water is too expensive. I always had a jug of distilled water to use in my humidifier, so I tried drinking it once. I was sold. I’ve also found that, including electricity, it only costs about $0.20 a gallon for me to distill my own water. The only thing stopping me was the price of the initial unit, but I have already saved, in a month’s time, half the cost of the unit by not buying bottled water. Furthermore, I no longer get evaporation rings on my drinking glasses, I no longer have to worry about boiling rings on my pots and pans, and I never have to clean the scale deposits out of my coffee maker. This is a win-win situation, and this product makes distilling water as easy as filling a container, dumping it out, and pushing a button. The clean stainless steel finish on the inside makes cleaning a breeze. I give five stars to what has quickly become the most important appliance in my home.

I’m writing this paragraph several months after purchasing this unit. I have to give a plug to MegaHome, the company that is currently selling this product on Amazon. I had done a ton of research on this product before buying one, and I paid special attention to how reliable it was or seemed. I encountered very few people who ever had a problem with the product, but of course, I was the one who had trouble with mine. I was afraid of trying to deal with an internet company over something that, although warranted, had already been quite expensive. How quicly postage costs to get an item fixed will add to the overall cost of the product I was trying to save money to produce myself. I found to not be an issue. MegaHome made servicing this product over the phone almost effortless. I’ve dealt with a lot of internet companies over the years, and most are lacking. MegaHome ranks in the top 1%, and I don’t give those accolades lightly.

I just want to add to my review that five years have passed since my initial purchase, and this puppy is still going strong. I distill about 3 gallons of water a week on average, so that means I’m closing on on 1,000 gallons distilled on a single unit.”

Link to his review: https://www.amazon.com/review/R3EQVI5E9SHE0L/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00026F9F8

 

Sisk, Atlanta, GA, Oct 2016 – “…I bought this about 4 months ago. I have noticed a positive difference in my kidney function. I use the charcoal filters and the taste is perfect; there is none. It took me a little time to get used to that and I used a little fresh lemon juice at first. Do not use plastic to drink distilled water. Try glass or stainless steel. My whole house now uses only distilled water and I feel better abou that. I thought about this for over a year, comparing it with the Berkey and decided to pull the trigger on this. The cost to use and lack of ongoing costs for filters, other than the inexpensive charcoal packs, is what made the decision for me. Go for it!” –

https://www.amazon.com/review/RYVMO4O53XYGZ/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00026F9F8

 

Negative reviews:

 

Kathy L, Oct 2016 – “I have owned 2 of this brand in the last 12-15 years and use them almost daily that’s why 2 my last one went out a couple of days before I ordered this one.I have loved this brand in the past,but this one had a chemical smell and taste so I cleaned it and it still had smell and taste so I contacted the company,They told me to run a batch of vinegar through it I did twice and still slight smell and taste,They did say if vinegar didn’t work I could contact them about replacement,I hate the hassle of sending things back.So might get a different brand next time.guess I’ll try 3rd,4th or ever how many batches of vinegar to get the smell and taste gone.”

https://www.amazon.com/review/R3Q2X4YT7IE98E/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00026F9F8

 

Zer, Sept 2016 – “Impossible to find a replacement gasket without chemical odor, which is transferred to the distilled water.”

https://www.amazon.com/review/R37GXKSWWX06QP/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00026F9F8

 

Buckeye, Redwood City, CA United States, June 2016 – “I like the tuttnauer distiller better, easier to use and takes us less space. However, there is plastic contact with water” in the tuttnauer model.

https://www.amazon.com/review/R1E3E7EKGZ7MNF/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00026F9F8

 

Michael Parish, Chicago, IL, Nov 2015 – “Does it work? Yes. How long does it take to get a full one gallon of distilled water? Five hours and fifty-five minutes. Is the fan loud? No, but it’s continuous and getting near the three hour mark it gets darn irritating. Does it make sense economically? I have my doubts. I can buy a gallon of distilled water for .88 cents. It take 5 hours and 55 minutes of electricity to produce the same amount of water. The unit costs $199.00. I can buy 226 gallon of water for the amount it costs just to buy the unit. I haven’t computed it yet, but I suspect to break even the unit would have to operate producing 350 total gallons before breakdown to make it financially sound. Based on reviews of this unit I don’t think it will make it that far. Then you have some cleaning necessary with every gallon you produce. I’m guessing what might reduce the useful life is the cutoff feature. The distiller has to run out of water and overheat. That blows the circuit breaker and shuts the unit down. Letting the distiller overheat 300 times has to reduce the useful life. I’ve placed mine on a power cord timer that cuts it off before overheating. This also makes cleaning a lot easier since you don’t get that baked on mineral thing. Oh, to get a true one gallon you need to fill the unit above the actual fill line. I fill mine to the top of the word “full.”
OK, computed what the cost would be per gallon. 580 watt times 5.91 hours equals 3428 watts or putting the decimal in the right place it would be 3.428 Kilowatt hours of electricity to produce 1 gallon of water. Using the national average of 12 cent per kilowatt hour would mean it costs .41 cents of electricity to produce 1 gallon of distilled water. I can purchase distilled water at .88 cents per gallon. The break even on the machine over water purchase would be 342 gallon of water. If the machine is still running after producing 342 gallons of water you start breaking even on your purchase. I of course didn’t include labor to clean the machine and maintain it. I also didn’t add the cost of city water because it’s cheap. On the buy side of water I didn’t add in my time or gas to run to the store. I guess it’s a wait and see game.
6/29/2016. I’ve owned the unit for about seven months. I’ve produced about 22 gallons per month over that period. Most of the time its been on a timer to prevent it from overheating and tripping the breaker that’s used to shut it down after the water runs out. I’ve allowed it to trip about 6 times. As suspected that caused a problem. It now takes 6 hours 5 minutes to produce a gallon of water. My electric bill has increased an average of $16.00 a month. It really is no longer economical to run the unit. I’ll keep it around in case I’m running low on purchased water and don’t feel like running over to the story.”

https://www.amazon.com/review/R2YYHCQBL44ZJH/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00026F9F8

 

Top critical review on amazon :

  1. Macdonald, Boston, MA, March 2012 – “Over the course of the past year I have gotten very serious about water filtering and my health in general. I currently own and use the MegaHome distiller purchased here daily as well as my under sink Watts reverse osmosis filter http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0035KLEFM/ref=oh_o05_s00_i00_details in my kitchen. I also have an Aquasana AQ-4000 http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004FRXWRM/ref=oh_o02_s00_i02_details that I use on my bathroom sink. I have used all products for a year so I can give a good solid unbiased breakdown of each product for anyone interested.The reason for me using a water distiller is simply because it is the only way to consistently remove 99% of fluoride from drinking water. The percentage in RO systems is from 80-99%, but it can vary depending on the filters used. That being said a RO filter will filter out different items that have a low boiling point and might pass into the water with distilling, so I like to use them both in series.My personal feelings are that fluoride as a poison should not be placed in public drinking water because it causes more harm than good. There are other pollutants that I am concerned about such as chlorine and such, but they are much easier to remove than fluoride. Each to his own, but that is the reason why I first use my reverse osmosis filter or Aquasana and then run it through my water distiller after.

    My TDS (Total Dissolved Solids) meter http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002T6L5M/ref=oh_o06_s00_i00_details it shows my local tap water to have 068 ppm (parts per million) of impurities. It doesn’t tell you what those impurities are it just tells you how many solids are in the water.

    After distilling the water it shows 005 ppm so it removes a huge portion of dissolved solids in the water. I can say that the brown colored crap that is left in the bottom of the reservoir bin shows the fluoride left behind along with the other toxins is very foul smelling almost like burnt metal. That taste comes across in the water and the little carbon filter that comes with the water distiller isn’t enough to get rid of the VOC gas taste or the remaining impurities.

    I used to use a Britta or a Pur pitcher filter for the post filtering and to get the taste better, but that drives up the cost of the distiller and after researching I didn’t see that the pitcher based filters took out enough of the dangerous chemicals to make me feel good.

    I found this link that explained the reason behind the smell after distilling water. One part of this link suggested pre-filtering the water going into the distiller and I did so with my Aquasana. That still left a good amount of the brown crap after the distilling was done and the smell didn’t go away really. It showed that the Aquasana didn’t really filter out enough of the garbage that I wanted out of my water. I started using my Watts my reverse osmosis filter to fill the distiller reservoir before running the unit. That has totally eliminated the bad tasting water afterwards instead of using any other method and I have zero brown liquid or scale buildup in my distiller.

    (…)

    “NON-FLUORIDATED WATER Industrial quality reverse osmosis water brings the total dissolved solids down to less that one part per million for all the pollutants that might be in there. Distilled water will remove 99% of the fluoride all of the time. I also recommend a pre-charcoal filter on a distiller to remove volatiles so that you are not getting noxious gases in your home. These are worse when you inhale them than when you drink them, because they go right into your blood stream and into your lungs”

    After taking care to ventilate my room when running the distiller and using my reverse osmosis filter before the distiller, the water is down to 001 ppm and the taste is unreal with how clean it is. It is the closest thing to totally pure and clean water that one can find in modern society. I am using this ultra purified water to help me detox my body and I use it to cook with. Once done with my detox I will use this water half cut down with fresh juice moving forward to keep the water from potentially leaching helpful nutrients from my body.

    Overall this unit by itself only gets three stars from me for the following reasons:

    1. After putting in the effort to buy a system that uses only stainless steel, for some idiotic reason they use a plastic spout at the end. Now ultra pure water leeches everything that it comes in contact with that is reactive and last I checked plastic is reactive. There is also a rubber hose at the end of the distillation steel hose that seems rather unnecessary and could potentially add chemicals.

    2. The glass collection bin is nice and very large volume, but the charcoal packet that you put in the plastic dispenser is tiny and the directions say you have to change it ever three times… that’s basically every other day for me since I refill the unit twice a day and is why I started using the brita or pur filters after the water is through. The two step process is why I am marking down the stars. If I don’t use the post charcoal filter then I have to use my reverse osmosis water as feed water to keep it from tasting bad. That being said, when I do use either method the water is the best tasting water I have ever consumed.

    3. The system is a bit cumbersome to refill and I am always getting the base wet and am worried that it will cause a short or worse a fire.

    4. There is no temperature gauge and I would like to know for sure that my water is the lowest possible temperature to ensure that the least amount of toxins are boiled off. This also prevents the system (probably by design due to laws and regulations) from being used to distill alcohol that can be used as fuel, as a tincture, denatured or any other legitimate and legal reason. It is still illegal to distill alcohol to drink in the United States for some reason, but those are the laws and I don’t make them so I was pointing out the legal reasons to distill alcohol.

    5. There is no way to attach anything to distill oils from your favorite herbs and spices. It costs me an arm and a leg to buy essential oils from the store and it would be nice to be able to distill my own and extract my essential oils at home.

    On a good note I have used this unit for over a year and it is very simple to clean. I still have a pack of the cleaner that came with the unit, but I prefer to simply fill the unit up with half vinegar and half water and let it boil for a few minutes. I will then turn it off and scrub out the inside every couple of weeks. In between scrubs, I will simply rinse out the base in my sink and that keeps the bad taste and smell from coming into the water.

    The other good thing is that I know if any of my other filter systems miss some toxins, the distiller is a second layer of protection to catch the crap that is left over. The brita and pur filters can’t touch the Aquasana filter as far as charcoal filters go. The Aquasana can’t touch the reverse osmosis or the distilled water as far as purified water goes. You get what you pay for sometimes and for a cheap distiller unit, this held up very well with no problems so far. I am a hard judge, but I think one has to be to ensure optimal health in today’s polluted world.” https://www.amazon.com/review/RIK8PUEXJ0WGP/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00026F9F8

 

Top positive review:

Dale Francisco, July 2005 – “I’ve been using this distiller for almost a year, and it makes the best water I’ve ever tasted. The only reason I don’t give it five stars is that I think there might be a way to make it more convenient; I think an older or frail person would have a tough time removing the upper cover (fan unit) after distilling (it’s fairly heavy, and it makes a tight seal with the body of the distiller).

When I first started using this distiller, I thought there was a slightly acrid taste to the water, even with the carbon filter. Eventually I figured out what was wrong. I live in an area where the tap water has a very high mineral content. The body of the distiller is essentially an electric kettle that holds a gallon of water. It shuts off automatically when the water boils off. But the mineral gunk left over gets burned onto the bottom and the sides of the “kettle”, and that’s what was causing the slightly off taste. By setting a timer so that I remember to shut off the distiller before the last few ounces of water boil away, I’ve been able to improve the taste of the water, as well as make de-scaling the kettle a less frequent task. (Starting from cold tap water, it takes about 6 hours to distill a gallon of water, so I shut it off at about 5 1/2 hours.) Curiously, the little button on the front of the distiller body is only an “ON” button; to manually turn the distiller off, you have to pull the power plug.

Another slight drawback to this product is that the cooling fan is pretty loud. I run the distiller in a downstairs utility room, so it doesn’t bother me at all, but you wouldn’t want to be in the same room with it when it’s running.” https://www.amazon.com/review/R3CPVUO64O2MKS/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00026F9F8

 

Louise Scholtus, Grawn, Michigan USA, Oct 2016 – “Works great. We have very hard water and so I use 1 gallon of this per day for me and hubby, dogs and parrots. My heartburn went away.”

https://www.amazon.com/review/R3B21M2PRSFNQP/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00026F9F8

 

Hello Seattle, Oct 2016 – “I use it every day and I’ve owned this sucker for awhile. It is a bit pricey but worth every penny. For my use purposes it is perfect. I let it make water when I’m out and about and I’m the only one who drinks from it. However, this can only comfortably make water for 2 people and even then, you’ll probably be running it 12 hours a day. I would recommend against this product for families of over 3, you will essentially be running it every waking hour and it is fairly loud.

Then again, if you are buying water from those 2.5 gallon bottles at the store, you will still save money and have to go shopping for water far less frequently with this, even if you are a larger family. If you are a homeowner though, I think an RO unit would make much more sense.

For me, this thing has already paid for itself and has saved me many trips of lugging gallons of water up 3 flights of stairs. I also don’t feel guilty using those huge disposable plastic containers.” https://www.amazon.com/review/R3KT1A0UAR8TF/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00026F9F8